Skip to Main Content | Lesson Index | Glossary

EMT Lesson Two  How to build musical scales

Lesson Objectives

What are musical scales?

There are 7 natural notes in western music. These are called:

A, B, C, D, E, F, G

All scales start and end on the same note. In Lesson 2 of the Essential Keyboard Skills course you played the scale of A. You started the scale on A and finished an octave higher on an A. An octave is an interval of eight (8) notes (including the top note and the bottom note). The note name of the top note is the same as that of the bottom note.

Figure 1. The scale of A major   (Enlarge)

Figure 1. The scale of A major.

Next: Introducing intervals